The Machine Gunners (2002)

From Broadcast for
Jump to: navigation, search
started20th Sep 2002
ended29th Nov 2002
last rpt14th Mar 2008
6 school years
duration15 mins
subject 📚English
age rangeAge 9-11
languageenIn English
Machine Gunners activity cover autumn 2002.jpg
Schools Radio SerialsNext series: Children of Winter HierarchyNext.gif

The Machine Gunners is a BBC schools radio series from the 2000s, covering English for primary school pupils.

A 10-part reading by Craig Heaney of Robert Westall's children's novel set in World War II, in which a group of boys in a British town find a German machine gun, construct a fort, and mount their own secret war against the enemy.

Episode List

# Title Broadcast
1. A Dead Man's Gun #2002-09-20-00-00-0020 Sep 2002
2. Cat and Mouse #2002-09-27-00-00-0027 Sep 2002
3. A Real Punch Up #2002-10-04-00-00-004 Oct 2002
4. The Fortress Caparetto #2002-10-11-00-00-0011 Oct 2002
5. Gone to Ground #2002-10-18-00-00-0018 Oct 2002
6. A Prisoner in the Fortress #2002-11-01-00-00-001 Nov 2002
7. Hunted #2002-11-08-00-00-008 Nov 2002
8. Fight at the Mudflats #2002-11-15-00-00-0015 Nov 2002
9. Invasion! #2002-11-22-00-00-0022 Nov 2002
10. Advancing Hordes #2002-11-29-00-00-0029 Nov 2002


The Machine Gunners by Robert Westall
Abridged for radio by Ivan Jones
Read by Craig Heaney
Music composed & performed by Jane Livermore
Series consultant Angel Scott
Produced by Katriona McEwan

Related programmes


Want more on this programme?

This site attempts to cover thousands of programmes and it will take ages to update them all. If you would like to see this one updated soon please click on the star to 'vote' for it and I will do my best to prioritise it!

Voting is anonymous and you can vote for as many programmes as you like. The number in the box above shows how many people have already voted for this programme. You can also see a list of all the votes so far.

More Programmes