The Friday Story

From Broadcast for
Jump to: navigation, search
started22nd Sep 1989
ended22nd Jun 1990
1 school year
duration20 mins
subject 📚English
age rangeAge 9-11
languageenIn English

The Friday Story is a BBC schools radio series from the 1980s and 1990s, covering English for primary school pupils.

  • replaced The Friday Serial
  • while the previous series provided stories for all pupils from infants to teenagers, this series focussed specifically on 9-12 year-olds
  • readings of children's stories including The Wind in the Willows by Kenneth Grahame read by Alan Bennett, Woof! by Allan Ahlberg, Jason Bodger and the Priory Ghost by Gene Kemp, and The Holiday by George Layton
  • two of the readings from The Friday Serial were repeated under the title The Friday Story in a resource week from 25th to 29th June 1990.

More Programmes

Cookies help this website deliver its services. By using these services, you agree to the use of cookies.