From Broadcast for
Jump to: navigation, search
started21st Apr 1980
ended26th Jun 1984
last rpt18th Jun 1986
7 school years
duration15 mins
age rangeAge 9-11 & Age 11-13

Insight is an ITV schools TV series from the 1980s, covering Special Needs for primary and secondary school pupils.

  • designed for children who are deaf or have hearing difficulties
  • sketches, some with single-sentence subtitles on screen, mime and other visual material
  • 28 episodes featuring Derek Griffiths first shown in 1980 & 1981, and another 18 episodes featuring Victoria Wood first shown in 1984, which added British Sign Language sequences
  • the first series included a weekly serial story about the adventures of a gang of children' Jo's Gang
  • the series' production was particularly badly affected by the ITV strike in 1979. Originally due to begin in Spring 1980, the series was postponed and the first 8 episodes were broadcast in the summer term, the remainder in the following school year.


More Programmes

Cookies help this website deliver its services. By using these services, you agree to the use of cookies.